1st OAuth Security Workshop 2016 (OSW 2016)

July 14th and 15th 2016 in Trier/Germany

In context of the recent findings from researchers related to OAuth, see announcement, the IETF OAuth Working Group (WG) is convinced that the wider Internet security community can help to improve the security of Internet protocols.

In an attempt to reach out to security experts from research, industry, and standardization the WG will hold a workshop on OAuth security during the week before the summer IETF meeting, namely July 14th and 15th 2016 in Trier/Germany. Our host will be the Chair for Information Security and Cryptography at the University of Trier.

Registration deadline: June 24, 2016

Registration is closed.

Participants have to register for the workshop. The registration fee is 80 €. A social event is scheduled in the evening of July 14th, including a guided sightseeing tour to some of the eight world heritage sites in Germany’s oldest city Trier.

Schedule and Slides


Program Committee


  • Ralf Küsters (University of Trier)
  • Hannes Tschofenig (IETF OAuth Working Group Co-Chair)


  • John Bradley (Ping Identity)
  • Torsten Lodderstedt (Deutsche Telekom)
  • Chris Mitchell (Royal Holloway University of London)
  • Nat Sakimura (Nomura Research Institute)
  • Jörg Schwenk (Ruhr University Bochum)
  • Daniel Fett (University of Trier)

Organizing Committee

  • Daniel Fett (University of Trier)
  • Ralf Küsters (University of Trier)
  • Hannes Tschofenig (IETF OAuth Working Group Co-Chair)

Invited Speakers

  • Karthikeyan Bhargavan (INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt)
  • Andrey Labunets (Facebook)


(See Map)

The workshop will be held at

University of Trier, Campus 2
54296 Trier

How to get to Trier and how to get to the University (follow “Directions to Campus II”).


Important Dates

  • Position paper submission deadline: May 21, 2016 (AoE, UTC-12).
  • Author notification: May 28, 2016.
  • Registration deadline: June 24, 2016.
  • Workshop: July 14 and July 15, 2016.

Call for Position Papers

For further questions please contact the organizing committee at fett@uni-trier.de.